Audition #30: Pink Pig Ballet

In July, I was happy to be invited to the auditions for Pink Pig Ballet – a contemporary ballet company founded by Valerie Mae Brown.  I’d been following them for awhile and I really liked that some of their rep consisted of re-envisioned fairy tales.  I had wanted to audition for this one for awhile, so I was glad to finally have the chance.

It was an evening audition and we started with a quick ballet barre and a few centre exercises en pointe.  Then we learned a piece of repertory from one of their recent pieces and performed that in smaller groups. It was a really fast piece, but I was having fun with everything Valerie gave us.

And here, it ended up being a two part audition!  One of the company dancers was casting for his own work so we went to another studio and learned a more contemporary piece.  Unfortunately, at the time I did not excel at this portion of the audition, although I really enjoyed the movement quality.  I just couldn’t get it to sit well on my body.  We also did some fun, improv-y exercises which involved contact improv and a little storytelling.  I don’t do this too often, so I was proud of myself for not getting overly intimidated with these.

After both parts of the audition, I sat down and had a conversation with Valerie about my schedule, which I figured was a good sign.  And about a week later I was invited to start rehearsals for their October performance!  Which makes this my first casting through a dance audition!

*Insert victory dance here!*

I’ve been having a lot of fun in rehearsals for Jack White + the Seven Sins, where I will be playing “Wrath.”  You can come see us at the end of October just in time for Halloween, and we also have a karaoke fundraiser happening next week.

It’s great to be working with such lovely dancers and doing some really great ensemble work.  I’m really excited to be a part of the company, and to finally officially say I’ve been cast from an audition!  I’ll have lots more updates and pictures coming soon.  If you aren’t already, make sure you are following me on Instagram so you don’t miss anything.

This is only audition #30 so I still have a lot more on this blog to go.  Please feel free to share some of your success stories, auditions or otherwise, in the comments below.  🙂

Jack White and the 7 Sins
Preview pic of Jack White + the 7 Sins!

Next!

One thought on “Audition #30: Pink Pig Ballet

Leave a Reply

