I’m re-starting this blog

Hello everyone. I’m back.

I realize it’s been several years since I’ve written a post, and you probably thought I gave up on this project.  For awhile, I did.  I never stopped with my dance training, I’m proud of the progress I’ve made, and I’m continuing to work on my technique like a crazy person.  However, truth be told, the thing that got in the way of me continuing with these audition blog posts was mainly: LIFE.

I don’t want to bore you with all the details, but here’s a short synopsis of what’s happened that kept me from writing over the past 3 years:

1) I had an extremely messy break up with my fiance at the time.  Turns out he was toxic, emotionally abusive, not healthy, and took me away from my goals as a dancer and as a human being to deal with his crap.  It took a lot of inner strength to pull myself away from that relationship that I had tried to make work for so long, and after that, I needed some time to re-group.  This all happened early in 2012, around the time of some of my last posts.

2) Honestly, I was having a hard time managing my audition anxiety after that personal ordeal, and started getting some dance work basically through word of mouth and mutual friends.  Since that was artistically fulfilling for me at the time, I focused a lot of my energy on that.  I worked as a ballet dancer (and still work, when projects are available) with the Rachel Klein Dance Ensemble, which produces dark, edgy dance-theatre works.  I also worked with the ladies at House of Yes and Lady Circus on some more multi-media/aerial dance work.  And I was commissioned to choreograph and dance in a Fringe NYC musical, and a few other shows.  So this all built up my resume a bit and allowed me to focus on creative work that I really loved.

3) About a year after my horrible break up, I met the love of my life.  And we got married.  And I couldn’t possibly be happier.  His name is Jacob, and he’s a talented musician/comedian/graphic artist.  We’ve been married since March 22, 2014, and life with him is utterly magical.  Every day I wake up and cannot believe my luck.

It took awhile for the dust to settle, not to mention plan a wedding!  But I’m content now and, guess what?  I’ve been auditioning again.

So I decided to log back into this account.  And when I read some of the comments that had been left for me while I was away, it made me tear up.  I didn’t realize how valuable sharing my journey could be to others until some of you told me.

So, I’m going to start sharing it again.  And I’m going to continue with my project of “making-katrina-not-freak-out-with-irrational-anxiety” at dance auditions.  I’ve already been on at least 6 this year, maybe more (3 this week! Eek!) and I’m even going to Portland in July to audition for Moxie Contemporary Ballet!

My husband and I don’t want to stay in NYC forever, so I’m taking the next few years to give it absolutely all I’ve got, train my butt off, and put myself out there as much as possible.  And I’m gonna write about it for you.  I hope it helps offer some insight, or at least lets you know that you are not alone.

And also please know that life happens, but that will never keep us from dancing.

Thank you all.  For your support, for reading, for understanding, for being awesome people and dancers.

Until next time (probably tomorrow), here is a wedding pic for you!  This was seriously the best day ever.

Jacob and Katrina

2 thoughts on “I’m re-starting this blog

  1. So glad to see you back and blogging. You are talented and smart and articulate, and I think you’ve got stuff to say about your experiences that will help and inspire others–including me! I think your blog name should be considered more a metaphor than something to be taken literally–because life happens, as you note, to interrupt our big goals (like 100 auditions in a year–zoikes!), and that the show does go on – we step back, regroup, rethink, and re-emerge to whack away at life again. It’s what it adds up to in the end that counts – not the “actual” count. I will definitely want to hear how you handle audition anxiety–while I don’t audition, I do perform in workshops, and stage anxiety is “real” for me. Unlike others, I don’t live to perform, and I don’t “come alive” onstage (well, I do, but I go thru a lot to get to that place). And I want to hear about sore hamstrings and whatever you do to keep going thru physical stuff, too. And just about YOU. So there we are. I will shut up now. Glad you’re back. Missed you.

Leave a Reply

