On being human – practice audition FAIL

So I started last weekend with every intention of going to my two “practice” auditions.  I started off ok on Saturday.  I over-slept and didn’t realize I was so tired, so the morning was gone but I still managed to have a productive day running errands and choreographing over an americano in my favorite coffee shop.  My audition wasn’t until 6 pm.

I returned to my apartment around 4:15 pm with enough time to run to the gym and warm up before heading up to the audition.  I was about to walk out the door when I realized I couldn’t find a very important USB flash drive that I had last seen in my purse.  Said flash drive contained a spreadsheet with login information for every financial account I owned, so naturally, I started to freak out a little bit.

I went back to the coffee shop and couldn’t find it there.  Very kindly, one of the baristas took my number to call me if anything turned up.  I tore the apartment apart and still nothing.  By now it was 5 pm.  I had no choice.  To be safe, I sat down at my computer and went to each account and changed my passwords and PINs.  It took me an hour and a half to check all my accounts, so I missed the audition.  I was not happy about this.

I figured at least I could still make it to the gym.  I found the nearest New York Sports Club (keep in mind I did just move), and lo and behold, I show up and they are only open for another 15 minutes.  So much for that.

My second audition of the weekend was for a girl group that seemed to be trying really hard to be the next Pussycat Dolls, and the audition was supposed to be from 9 am – 12 pm on Sunday.  Needless to say, I overslept and didn’t make it.  

So, I failed epically this past weekend at making my practice auditions.  On one hand, thank goodness they were for practice and not auditions I really cared about.  On the other hand, I probably really needed the practice!

The cherry on top?  Of all things, I show up for work Monday morning and the godforsaken USB flash drive is plugged into my work computer.  Here’s the little culprit:

Ridiculous.  I mean, I understand, we all have human moments but geez.  I’m glad all my financial accounts are safe and now I have no idea what any of my passwords for anything are, but I still feel pretty dumb for freaking out for no reason AND missing two auditions and a workout.

What else can I do?  Chalk it up to spilt milk.

Next!

One thought on “On being human – practice audition FAIL

  1. Ah, poor you; what a coupla days! Glad you found the flash drive. And yeah, all frustrating, but how would you have felt if you’d gone on to the practice auditions and someone (yes, even at work) had gotten into your files and taken your passwords and wreaked (eventual) havoc? You’d probably have said, “What was I thinking, taking that kind of risk just to go to a couple of lame practice auditions – it wasn’t even like I wanted those gigs.” So – you made the right decision. And it’s great that nothing bad actually happened in the end. As you like to say: NEXT!

Leave a Reply

