Audition #9: Sleep No More

I was super excited about this one.  I haven’t seen the show but it sounds really interesting.  The U.K. based Punchdrunk did an all-movement interpretation of Macbeth and they’ve been performing it in NYC in the McKittrick Hotel.  Each room in the hotel has been laid out in precise detail for the action of the play and the audience follows characters through the different rooms.  Very voyeur-esque.  I had no freaking clue what to expect from this one.

I’m sad I didn’t take a picture of the room where I was warming up – likely Macbeth’s chambers in the show – but it was probably too dark anyway.  It was an invited audition, and I was with 25 other girls assigned to this time slot.  We warmed up in Macbeth’s chambers and then they took us into the ballroom, which was surrounded by fake evergreen trees.

I knew I was in trouble when I heard “let’s do a little improvisation to warm up.”  Improvised audition.  That’s new for me.  I was having flashbacks to LAMDA where we rolled around on the floor and made weird noises and it was supposed to help our acting technique, though I never quite figured out how it did other than helping me be ok with doing weird stupid things in front of people.

So that’s exactly what we proceeded to do.  We started laying down on the floor and were guided slowly up to our feet improvising movement.  We were given two directions at different points.  The first was to “be only interested in what you are doing” and the second was “have a relationship with your environment”.  So, switching between internal focus and external…. I think?  I went along with it.

Ok that was a lovely warm up.  Oh, now we’re going to do this across the floor in groups of four?  Ok…  I can handle that.  WTF am I doing again?

So four at a time we made a “journey” across the floor while changing our focus from internal to external.  At least I’m pretty sure that’s what I was asked to do, so I tried to do that and not be too serious about it.  We did that a second time with music.

As in the Company XIV audition, I was sure to watch other people and see who I thought was interesting.

Not one of the girls I noticed stayed.  They kept 2 of the 25 of us and the rest were dismissed.  So I went home along with some really amazing contemporary dancers.

As to what they were looking for I HAVE NO FREAKING CLUE.  Each audition is like a puzzle.  Can’t feel too bad about that one.

Next!

3 thoughts on “Audition #9: Sleep No More

  1. I’m so glad I found your blog. I am getting into the audition circuit/circus at the moment and will also be auditioning for Sleep No More on Monday. *excited/scared*
    I have no idea what to expect, but will go in and do my best to have fun.
    I’ll let you know how it turns out. *fingers crossed*

    Also, I’m so glad you posted about Liberated Movement. I started taking class there after reading your post and am thrilled to be back in class again. I hope to make it to your class next week.

    Have a great night and best of luck on your audition journey.

    Dianna

Leave a Reply

