Audition #6: Radio City Christmas Spectacular

Holy mother we are only on audition number 6.  I’ve got some major catching up to do.

My last audition was posted in March, so bear with me as we go a little retro here before I post the ones from this week. The Radio City audition happened May 5, 2011 bright and early.

So if I started on January 31st, from this week, I have about 20 weeks to catch up.  I’m doing one audition a week.  I have 5 auditions to post so I will have done 10 total by the end of this week.  That means I have 42 auditions to do by January 31, 2012.  That’s roughly 2.1 auditions per week from now through January.

I got this.  I hope.

I don’t think I’ve talked yet about what happens if I actually book something.  Quite simply, I’m going to keep auditioning πŸ™‚  Remember, I’m doing this more for the audition practice and study than the actual booking.  At least that’s what I keep telling myself.

Ok, Radio City Christmas Spectacular.  I was totally counting on going to this one since the beginning of the year.  Radio City ensemble is a cushy job.  You make gobs of money during the Christmas season, get health insurance, and then keep the health insurance and get unemployment for 6 months following the show.  Not a bad deal.

The female dancers call was in the morning and here was the line when I showed up:

There was a crazy lotta girls.  Once they let us into the holding room, after sitting outside for awhile on a chilly morning with our coffee and huge bags of dance gear, I found my friend Kate from dance class.  She had done the Radio City audition last year.  I asked her how it went.  “I got cut in the first round.”  Oh, great.

Kate is an awesome dancer so this did not bode well.  I had also heard rumors that they had reduced the size of the ensemble and re-vamped the show a bit.  Plus they like to go with the people they have used before.  I was ready and armed with my audition outfit (see blue halter leotard, La Duca’s, and black ballet skirt from prior posts).

I was in the first group, which consisted of, I don’t know, maybe 100 some odd girls or possibly more.  In a gigantic gymnasium with slippery floors, they taught us a little combination.  It was very classical ballet and theater-y and ended with two pirouettes.

They took us in groups of 3.  I watched Kate go.  She nailed it.  I went.  I nailed it.  We both got cut.  They kept maybe only 10 girls from the whole group.

I thought this audition was going to take the whole day, so I had planned on taking the day off from work.  No reason to go back.  I enjoyed the rest of the day from home.  No Christmas Spectacular this year, oh well.

Next!

2 thoughts on “Audition #6: Radio City Christmas Spectacular

  1. First of all, let me just say that I really love your blog! It’s so great to see you pushing yourself to achieve your dreams, and it’s helpful for those of us who are trying to do the same to see your experiences. I know that this particular audition was a year ago, but I’m considering an audition for Radio City this year, and I was wondering if you could remember the specific look or style of the girls who made the cut? Obviously they’re not necessarily looking for the same thing this year, but a leg up wouldn’t hurt!

    1. Mandy,

      Thanks for your comment! Much appreciated.

      A lot of Radio City dancers and Rockettes actually come to my ballet class and I asked their advice before I went for the call. I also sat in the holding room with quite a few friends (all of them talented, working dancers) who were on their second or third year auditioning. So don’t get discouraged if you have to go a few times! I’ll probably be right there with ya πŸ™‚

      Also note that there were at least 200 dancers brought in with my group that morning and there were several groups of that size! This is one of the craziest dance calls, but there is no reason you can’t get noticed!

      There was no real pattern to who they kept. Most of them were likely dancers they knew from other jobs, or dancers who had auditioned well before. In general, ensemble females are petite and have strong ballet technique, and a look suitable for family entertainment since the Christmas Spectacular is a family show.

      All that being said, I have a couple pieces of advice:

      1) In general, I would lean towards polished, upbeat musical theatre. I wore a bright leotard, nude leggings a black ballet skirt, and my La Duca’s. My hair was done very nicely. I felt that I was dressed appropriately.

      2) See the show in advance, or even a trailer or any video that may be available and watch the ensemble dancers. They created a new show the year I auditioned and I think they may have cut a few roles, but the best way to get a feel for what they are looking for is to know the show inside and out and see who is actually dancing in the role you are auditioning for.

      3) Be you! I know that sounds like typical advice, but I really mean it. Know what your strengths as a dancer are when you go in and don’t be shy about showing them. The best way to make a cut is to let your personality shine.

      At the end of the day, directors want to work with a person – a fun, entertaining person – not just a dancer. Great dancers are everywhere but the ones who can bring that little something extra are a little rarer. Don’t be afraid to shine!

      I hope this helps! Keep me posted if you’ll attend this year. I’ll definitely be there.

Leave a Reply

