Welcome to 100 Auditions

My name is Katrina, and I’m an aspiring professional dancer and choreographer living in New York City.

As a dancer, I’ve carried a lot of self-defeating beliefs with me for a long time.  I think this, along with an intense, soul-crushing, anxiety-inducing fear of attending auditions, is what’s kept me from being a full time professional dancer.  Frankly, I’m sick of this, and I’m determined to overcome my fears and start taking a positive outlook on my abilities.

So, here is how this will work.

I’m going to attend at least 100 dance auditions, and write about my experience in each of them.  I’m mainly a ballet dancer, so most of the auditions I will be attending will be for ballet, contemporary ballet, and modern companies and projects, as well as some chorus calls for dancers. I will write about each one here and let you know what I learn from every single audition, and maybe share some of my auditioning tips.

I’m not sure what will happen – maybe I will get cast before or by the 100th audition and maybe I won’t.  I’ll be continuing my technical training while auditioning (and working a 9-5 office job!).

Thank you for reading and for going on this journey with me.  I hope it helps both you and me gain some valuable insight into the world of dance auditions.

~Katrina

5 thoughts on “Welcome to 100 Auditions

Leave a Reply

